Veterans Homes Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
May I visit the Veterans Home of California (VHC) before applying for admission?
Yes. We strongly urge all potential members to visit our campuses first. Please call in advance so that we may schedule a complete tour of the campus of your choice. Unscheduled tours may not be able to be accommodated.
Do I have to be a resident of California to be admitted to a CalVet Home?
Yes, you do need to be a California resident. In addition; you no longer have to have joined the military from California, nor do you have to have wartime service.
How much will it cost me to become a resident?
No veteran will be denied admission due to a lack of income. For those veterans who have income, state law requires that they pay a percentage of their income as member fees. Member fees help reduce the amount of state tax dollars needed to operate CalVet Homes, thus allowing the California Department of Veterans Affairs to care for a greater number of veterans. Regardless of fee calculations, residents shall retain $165.00/month. Member fees are:
- Residential Care: 47.5 percent of your income.
- Residential Care for the Elderly or assisted living: 55 percent of your income.
- Intermediate Care: 65 percent of your income.
- Skilled Nursing Home Care: 70 percent of your income.
For residents with higher incomes, the fee is limited by a "fee cap" to prevent residents from paying more than the cost of their care. The fee caps are listed below.
|New Amounts Effective (July 1, 2011)
Note: If you receive aid and attendance (A&A) benefits from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs, the entire A&A amount is payable to the VHC.
Is there a waiting list to become a VHC resident?
Members are admitted on a space and bed-available basis. While there are waiting lists for all levels of care, the waiting for skilled nursing care can be quite large for some homes. The best way to assure future access to skilled nursing care is to enter the Home at a more independent level of care such as RCFE or DOM. For those considering a state veterans home, it is highly advisable to apply well before the need becomes urgent. To obtain the current status of vacancies, call the admissions office at the veteran's home you are considering.
Will I have a private room?
No. A very limited number of private rooms are available based on seniority.
I am married. Can my spouse become a resident?
Spouses may be admitted with certain restrictions. A spouse must be married to and living with the veteran for at least one year. Spouses must submit a separate, complete application and meet requirements for admission at the residential/domiciliary, intermediate or skilled nursing level of care.
I have medical coverage through a health maintenance organization (HMO). Should I keep this coverage?
The Veterans Home of California (VHC) will require residents to disenroll from their HMO if the Home is not within the HMO service area. Should you decide to retain your HMO, you may be required to access all services through your HMO with the exception of urgent and emergency care.
I have a pet dog and a cat. May I bring them with me?
No. VHC has no facilities for pets.
Does VHC have laundry facilities?
Yes. Washing machines and dryers are available.
May I have visitors at VHC?
Yes. Visits by your friends and relatives are encouraged. VHC staff will be glad to assist you in arranging these visits.
How many personal belongings may I bring with me?
Each room has limited storage space. Some additional storage space may be available. Check with the specific home for further details. All personal equipment must meet health, safety and fire codes.
Can a resident of a Veterans Home of California keep his or her own car on the premises?
Yes. A parking lot area will be provided for Veteran residents with their own vehicles. The Veteran must have a current driver's license, current registration and proof of insurance and the vehicle must be in good operating order. A special parking permit will then be assigned for the safety of the Veteran resident.
Is there a probation period or a specific set of rules and procedures I must follow to become and remain a VHC resident?
Yes. Each new resident is placed on a 60-day conditional admission (probation) period and given a thorough briefing and orientation upon admission to the home.
If I am denied admission to VHC, what are my rights?
All initial appeals of denied admissions must first be filed with the appropriate homes' administrator. Appeals must be in writing, stating the reasons you feel you should be admitted to VHC. If the appropriate home administrator denies your admission and you wish to appeal, you may initiate your second appellate step by contacting the California Veterans Board at P.O. Box 942895, Sacramento, CA 94295-0001. The board will provide you with an appeal form if you did not receive one from the home.
May I be admitted if I have medical problems that require special care?
Maybe. Medical staff will individually review each application. All admission decisions will be made based upon available medical resources and the homes ability to provide necessary care for you.
Do I have to be at least 55 years old to apply for admission?
Veterans desiring to be considered for admission must be (1) age 55 or older, homeless, or disabled and (2) have received an honorable discharge from Active Military service. The average age of veterans living at our veterans homes, at all levels of care, is 73. If you wish to be considered for admission and meet the requirements, please submit your application.
How do I apply for admission to VHC?
Select the Admissions tab on this website and you may obtain application forms at the bottom of the page or on the specific Veterans home page you may obtain an application by utilizing the application form button.