Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Veteran Designation on California Driver License and ID Card

Starting November 12, 2015, the California Department of Veterans Affairs (CalVet) and the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) launch the Veteran Driver License Initiative. This initiative allows California Veterans to obtain a "Veteran" designation on their California driver license or identification card (DL/ID). Interested Veterans need to present a valid DD-214 (must show discharge status) to a local County Veterans Service Office (CVSO) to receive Veteran Status verification. Then the Veteran takes the CVSO verification form to a DMV field office for processing.  DMV charges an additional $5, plus the cost of a new, renewal, or duplicate license fee for this enhancement.


 

Veteran Designation on Driver License or Identification Card Frequently Asked Questions

 

 

Does California issue a driver license/identification card that shows I am a Veteran?https://www.calvet.ca.gov/VetServices/Pages/Does-California-Issue-Driver-LicensesIdentification-Cards-That-Show-I-Am-a-Veteran.aspxDoes California issue a driver license/identification card that shows I am a Veteran?<span style="color:#222222;line-height:115%;font-family:"arial","sans-serif";font-size:11pt;">Starting November 12, 2015, a new law allows DMV, upon request, to mark a DL/ID card with the word "Veteran" to indicate a person served in the United States (US) Armed Forces. </span>
How can I get a Veteran designation on my DL/ID?https://www.calvet.ca.gov/VetServices/Pages/How-Can-I-Get-a-Veteran-Designation-on-My-DLID.aspxHow can I get a Veteran designation on my DL/ID?<p>Obtaining your Veteran designation on my DL/ID is as easy as 1, 2, 3!  Get your records, then visit any CVSO, and then visit any DMV: </p><ol><li><p><strong>Get Records.</strong> Find an original or certified copy of your military discharge certificate (DD214).  If you need assistance obtaining your military records, then contact any County Veteran Service Officer (CVSO)</p></li><li><p><strong>Visit Any CVSO</strong>. Take your DD214 and government identification to any CVSO to obtain your Veteran Status Verification Form.</p></li><li><strong>Visit Any DMV.</strong>  Go on-line or call any DMV for an appointment.  Then bring your Veteran Status Verification Form to DMV.  Complete your application; pay any application fees in addition to a $5.00 Veteran designation fee. You must complete all applicable application and testing requirements.</li></ol><p>* <strong>For faster CVSO service</strong>, you can make an appointment with any of your local CVSOs by calling 844-737-8838 or finding your local CVSO at <a href="http://www.calvet.ca.gov/"><span style="text-decoration:underline;">www.calvet.ca.gov</span></a>.</p><p>* <strong>To schedule an appointment at any DMV</strong>, visit <a href="http://www.dmv.ca.gov/"><span style="text-decoration:underline;">www.dmv.ca.gov</span></a> or call 1-800-777-0133.</p>
Can I submit my request for the Veteran designation via the mail or online?https://www.calvet.ca.gov/VetServices/Pages/Can-I-submit-my-request-for-the-Veteran-designation-via-the-mail-or-online.aspxCan I submit my request for the Veteran designation via the mail or online?<p>​No.  You must first visit any CVSO and obtain the Veteran Status Verification Form and present your evidence of service and a government-issued photo identification.  Then you must visit a DMV office to obtain your DL/ID card with the Veteran designation.  California Vehicle Code section 12811(c)(5) required you to apply for the Veteran designation in person at a DMV field office that processes DL/ID cards.  The Veteran designation can only be added or removed at a field office. </p>
How long will it take for me to receive my new DL/ID card?https://www.calvet.ca.gov/VetServices/Pages/How-long-will-it-take-for-me-to-receive-my-new-DLID-card--.aspxHow long will it take for me to receive my new DL/ID card?<p>​You will receive your new DL/ID card with the Veteran designation from DMV in the mail in approximately four weeks.</p>
Is there a fee for the Veteran designation?https://www.calvet.ca.gov/VetServices/Pages/Is-There-a-Fee-for-the-Veteran-Designation.aspxIs there a fee for the Veteran designation?<span style="line-height:115%;font-family:"calibri","sans-serif";font-size:11pt;"><font color="#000000">Yes, DMV charges a one-time $5 fee in addition to the any DL/ID card renewal or replacement fee.<span style="">  </span></font></span>
Is there a charge for the Veteran verification form?https://www.calvet.ca.gov/VetServices/Pages/Is-there-a-charge-for-the-Veteran-verification-form.aspxIs there a charge for the Veteran verification form?No. But there is a $5 charge at the DMV when you submit the form.
Can I have the Veteran designation on both my driver license and identification card?https://www.calvet.ca.gov/VetServices/Pages/Can-I-have-the-Veteran-Designation-on-Both-My-Driver-License-and-Identification-Card.aspxCan I have the Veteran designation on both my driver license and identification card?<p>Yes, a Veteran who currently holds both a DL and an ID card can request to add the Veteran designation to both cards. A $5 fee will apply to each Veteran designation requested. </p>
Can I get a Veteran designation on my driver license or identification card if I show DMV my military ID card, Form DD 214 or any other document showing my military service?https://www.calvet.ca.gov/VetServices/Pages/Can-I-Get-a-Veteran-Designation-on-My-Driver-License-or-Identification-Card-if-I-Show-DMV-My-Military-ID-Card-Form.aspxCan I get a Veteran designation on my driver license or identification card if I show DMV my military ID card, Form DD 214 or any other document showing my military service?<p>No, a Veteran must submit a verification form from his or her County Veteran Service Officer to get a Veteran designation on a DL/ID. </p>
Can current active duty military obtain a Veteran designation on a driver license?https://www.calvet.ca.gov/VetServices/Pages/Can-current-Active-Duty-military-obtain-a-Veteran-designation-on-a-driver-license.aspxCan current active duty military obtain a Veteran designation on a driver license?<p>No. For evidence of military service, a current service member can show a valid military identification card. </p>
Are there any limitations to who can obtain a Veteran designation?https://www.calvet.ca.gov/VetServices/Pages/Are-There-Any-Limitations-to-Who-Can-Obtain-a-Veteran-Designation.aspxAre there any limitations to who can obtain a Veteran designation?<p>Yes, applicants under the age of 17 cannot obtain a DL/ID card with a Veteran designation. DMV may issue a DL/ID card with a Veteran designation only for an applicant who presents an acceptable Veteran verification form completed by a County Veterans Service Office.  </p>
When Can I get the verification form from the County Veterans Service Officer?https://www.calvet.ca.gov/VetServices/Pages/When-can-I-get-the-form-from-the-County-Veterans-Service-Officer.aspxWhen Can I get the verification form from the County Veterans Service Officer?<span style="color:black;line-height:115%;font-family:"calibri","sans-serif";font-size:11pt;"></span>Veteran verification forms will be available starting November 12, 2015.
Do I have to pay the $5 fee and obtain another form from the CVSO each time I renew my DL/ID card?https://www.calvet.ca.gov/VetServices/Pages/Do-I-have-to-pay-the-$5-fee-and-obtain-another-form-from-the-CVSO-each-time-I-renew-my-DLID-card.aspxDo I have to pay the $5 fee and obtain another form from the CVSO each time I renew my DL/ID card?<p>​No, the Veteran designation should permanently remain on a person's driver license or identification (DL/ID) card.  A person will be able to renew by mail or Internet and there will not be a question that asks them if they want the Veteran designation, but the DL/ID card will be produced with the designation, if it was on his or her prior DL/ID card.  If a person renews his or her DL/ID card in a DMV field office, the person will have to mark on the DL/ID application that they want to retain the Veteran designation.  The person will not need to submit another VSD-001 form to DMV.</p>
How Can I remove the Veteran designation from my driver license or identification card?https://www.calvet.ca.gov/VetServices/Pages/How-Can-I-remove-the-Veteran-Designation-From-my-Driver-License-or-Identification-Card.aspxHow Can I remove the Veteran designation from my driver license or identification card?<p>A Veteran can request to remove the veteran designation from his or her DL/ID in a DMV field office.  The Veteran designation can be removed from your DL/ID card in a DMV field office by completing Driver License or Identification Card Application (DL 44) or Commercial Driver License Application (DL 44C) and indicating that you would like the Veteran designation removed. The application for a DL/ID has a box a person can mark requesting the designation to be removed.  The fee to remove the Veteran designation, depends on what type of DL/ID the person has.  A replacement or renewal fee for the type of DL/ID would apply.  If a person wants to add the Veteran designation in the future, the $5 fee plus any application fee would apply.  </p>
How do I find a County Veteran Service Office?https://www.calvet.ca.gov/VetServices/Pages/How-do-I-find-a-County-Veteran-Service-Officer.aspxHow do I find a County Veteran Service Office?<p><strong><span style="line-height:115%;font-family:"calibri","sans-serif";font-size:11pt;"><font color="#000000">Visit </font><a href="/VetServices/Pages/CVSO-Locations.aspx"><span style="text-decoration:underline;"><font color="#0000ff">https://www.calvet.ca.gov/VetServices/Pages/CVSO-Locations.aspx</font></span></a><font color="#000000"> or<br></font><font color="#000000"> Call 1-844-SERV-VETS (844-737-8838).</font></span></strong></p>
Can dependents of Veterans obtain a driver license or identification card with a Veteran designation?https://www.calvet.ca.gov/VetServices/Pages/Can-Dependents-of-Veterans-Obtain-a-Driver-License-or-Identification-Card-with-a-Veteran-Designation.aspxCan dependents of Veterans obtain a driver license or identification card with a Veteran designation?<p>No, only a person who served in the active military, naval, or air service of the United States and received an other than dishonorable discharge, or, who served in a Guard or Reserve component and was mobilized for Federal Active Duty can obtain a DL/ID card with a Veteran designation. </p>
What if I have the Veteran designation on only my driver license and want to add the Veteran designation to my identification card later; do I need to get another Veteran verification form?https://www.calvet.ca.gov/VetServices/Pages/What-if-I-Have-the-Veteran-Designation-on-Only-my-Driver-License-and-Want-to-Add-the-Veteran-Designation.aspxWhat if I have the Veteran designation on only my driver license and want to add the Veteran designation to my identification card later; do I need to get another Veteran verification form?<span style="line-height:115%;font-family:"calibri","sans-serif";font-size:11pt;"><font color="#000000">No, the documentation on your Veteran verification form will be placed on your DMV record and another verification card is not required. In addition, your driver license will contain the Veteran designation and is proof of your Veteran status. </font></span>
Will I have to pay another $5 fee to replace a lost/stolen card?https://www.calvet.ca.gov/VetServices/Pages/Will-I-Have-to-Pay-Another-Fee-to-Replace-a-Lost-Stolen-Card.aspxWill I have to pay another $5 fee to replace a lost/stolen card?<p>No, if you are replacing a DL/ID card that contained a Veteran designation, an additional $5 fee above the cost to replace the DL/ID card is not required. If you are replacing a lost or stolen DL/ID card that did not contain the Veteran designation, a $5 fee and a verification form from your CVSO is required in addition to the replacement cost of the DL/ID. </p>
How do I obtain a copy of my DD-214?https://www.calvet.ca.gov/VetServices/Pages/How-do-I-obtain-a-copy-of-my-DD-214-.aspxHow do I obtain a copy of my DD-214?<p><span style="color:#222222;line-height:115%;font-family:"arial","sans-serif";font-size:11pt;">If you need assistance obtaining your military records, then contact any County Veteran Service Officer (CVSO).  To obtain your DD-214on your own, submit your request via the National Archives and Records Administration <a href="http://www.archives.gov/veterans/military-service-records/about-service-records.html"><span style="text-decoration:underline;"><font color="#0000ff">webpage</font></span></a> or call 314-801-0800. </span></p>
What information or documentation will the CVSO require before issuing the Veteran verification form?https://www.calvet.ca.gov/VetServices/Pages/What-information-or-documentation-will-the-CVSO-require-to-receive-the-veteran-verification-form.aspxWhat information or documentation will the CVSO require before issuing the Veteran verification form?<p>The Veteran will need to present their Form DD Form 214, and a photo ID (such as current driver license, current passport, VA Healthcare System Enrollment Card, etc.). </p>
What are the benefits of having the Veteran designation on my DL/ID card?https://www.calvet.ca.gov/VetServices/Pages/What-Are-the-Benefits-of-Having-the-Veteran-Designation-on-my-DLID-Card.aspxWhat are the benefits of having the Veteran designation on my DL/ID card?<span style="color:#222222;line-height:115%;font-family:"arial","sans-serif";font-size:11pt;"><span style="line-height:115%;font-family:"calibri","sans-serif";font-size:11pt;"><font color="#000000">A Veteran designation on a DL/ID card proudly recognizes military service, and is intended to enable US Veterans to access certain privileges, benefits, or compensation associated with being a Veteran without having to carry and produce their Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty (DD Form 214). </font></span></span>
As a Senior, am I still required to pay the $5 fee for a Veteran designation on my no-fee ID Card?https://www.calvet.ca.gov/VetServices/Pages/As-a-Senior-Am-I-Still-Required-to-pay-the-Fee-for-a-Veteran-Designation-on-my-No-Fee-ID-Card.aspxAs a Senior, am I still required to pay the $5 fee for a Veteran designation on my no-fee ID Card?<p>Yes, the $5 fee for the Veteran designation applies to all DL/ID cards, including a no-fee senior ID card or any other no-fee transaction when adding the Veteran designation. </p>
What will the Veteran designation look like?https://www.calvet.ca.gov/VetServices/Pages/What-will-the-Veteran-Designation-Look-Like.aspxWhat will the Veteran designation look like?<span style="color:#222222;line-height:115%;font-family:"arial","sans-serif";font-size:11pt;"></span><span style="line-height:115%;font-family:"calibri","sans-serif";font-size:11pt;"><font color="#000000">The face of the DL/ID card will have the word "VETERAN" to indicate a person served in the US Armed Forces.<span style="">   </span></font></span>
Is there a requirement to discharge status to add the Veteran designation?https://www.calvet.ca.gov/VetServices/Pages/Is-There-a-Requirement-to-Discharge-Status-to-Add-the-Veteran-Designation.aspxIs there a requirement to discharge status to add the Veteran designation?<p>To find out more about discharge status requirements please contact your local CVSO by phone at (844) SERV-VET or look up your <a href="/VetServices/Pages/CVSO-Locations.aspx"><span style="text-decoration:underline;">local office.</span></a> </p>
Will my personal information be shared with anyone?https://www.calvet.ca.gov/VetServices/Pages/Will-My-Personal-Information-be-Shared-with-Anyone.aspxWill my personal information be shared with anyone?<span style="color:#222222;line-height:115%;font-family:"arial","sans-serif";font-size:11pt;"><span style="line-height:115%;font-family:"calibri","sans-serif";font-size:11pt;"><font color="#000000">No, DMV and CVSOs will not share your personal information outside of entities already identified in state law.</font></span></span>

 

  • To obtain your DD-214, please submit your request via the National Archives and Records Administration webpage or call 314-801-0800.….
  • For faster CVSO service, please schedule an appointment with a CVSO. To locate the CVSO nearest you, call 844-737-8838. Enter your zip code when prompted and your call will be transferred..Alternatively, visit www.cacvso.org. Click on Contact Us and then click on your county of residence to view a list of CVSO locations, hours of operation, and contact information.
  • For faster DMV service, please schedule an appointment with the DMV by visiting their webpage or by calling 1-800-777-0133.

 

 

 

 

 Most Popular

 

Veteran Services Benefits - Card
 
 

Veteran Designation on California Driver License and ID Card